Journal Browser Advanced Search Help
Journal Browser Advanced search HELP
Korean J Lab Med. 2010 Oct;30(5):498-506. English. Original Article.
Koo SH , Kwon KC , Cho HH , Sung JY .
Department of Laboratory Medicine, College of Medicine, Chungnam National University, Daejeon, Korea.
Department of Biomedical Laboratory Science, Far East University, Eumseong, Korea.

BACKGROUND: The emergence of multidrug-resistant (MDR) Acinetobacter baumannii as an important opportunistic pathogen has given rise to significant therapeutic challenges in the treatment of nosocomial infections. In the present study, we assess the antibiotic resistance mechanisms of MDR A. baumannii strains by estimating the prevalence of antibiotic resistance determinants, including integrons, beta-lactamases, str genes, and gyrA and parC mutations. METHODS: Thirty-five MDR A. baumannii clinical isolates were collected from 3 Korean university hospitals over a 2-yr period. A. baumannii was confirmed by rpoB gene analysis. For each isolate, the minimal inhibitory concentrations (MICs) of 9 antibiotics were determined by the agar dilution method. PCR and DNA sequencing were used to identify the genes that potentially contribute to each resistance phenotype. RESULTS: Of the 35 MDR A. baumannii isolates examined, 7 antibiotic resistance gene determinants were detected. These resistance gene determinants included the gene bla(OXA-23), with an upstream element ISAba1 to promote increased gene expression and subsequent resistance to carbapenems, in 8 isolates (22.9%); aacA4, located within class 1 integrons, in 7 isolates (20.0%); and fluoroquinolone resistance conferred by gyrA and parC sense mutations in 31 isolates. CONCLUSIONS: Of the 35 MDR A. baumannii isolates, 26 (74.3%) from both outbreak and sporadic cases possessed at least 4 of the 7 antibiotic resistance gene determinants that give rise to the MDR phenotype. The co-occurrence of several resistance determinants may present a significant threat.

Copyright © 2019. Korean Association of Medical Journal Editors.